← All visas

Digital nomad visas in Africa, compared

5 programs from Cape Verde to Mauritius, sorted by the minimum income on their official government page. Programs that don't publish an income figure are listed last.

#ProgramMin. incomeStayFeesFamilySource
1 NamibiaDigital Nomad Visa ≈ $2,000/mo$2,000 / month 6 months NAD 3,300 (on approval) Yes nipdb.com ↗Checked Oct 21, 2026
2 South AfricaRemote Work Visa ≈ $3,301/moR650,796 / year Up to 3 years Not stated Not confirmed dha.gov.za ↗Checked Oct 20, 2026
3 Cape VerdeRemote Working Program Not stated 6 months Visa fee €20/person; airport fee €34/person (once) Yes visit-caboverde.com ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026
4 MauritiusPremium Visa Not stated 1 year Free Yes passport.govmu.org ↗Checked Oct 20, 2026
5 SeychellesWorkcation Retreat Program · Partly verified Not stated Up to 1 year Not stated Not confirmed seychelles.govtas.com ↗Checked Oct 19, 2026

USD figures are approximate (FX Oct 20, 2026). The official currency figure is what the authority applies.

Quick answers

Which African digital nomad visa has the lowest income requirement?

Among the African programs with a fixed figure on the official source, Namibia Digital Nomad Visa asks for about $2,000 a month (official rule: USD 2,000 per month; nipdb.com, checked Oct 21, 2026) and South Africa Remote Work Visa asks for about $3,301 a month (official rule: Gross salary ≥ ZAR 650,796 per year; dha.gov.za, checked Oct 20, 2026). Cape Verde, Mauritius and Seychelles don't state an income figure on the official pages we checked. USD amounts are approximate, at exchange rates of Oct 20, 2026.

Is there a free digital nomad visa in Africa?

Mauritius Premium Visa (passport.govmu.org, checked Oct 20, 2026): free of charge, per the official source.

Which African visa lets you stay the longest?

South Africa Remote Work Visa: More than 3 months up to 3 years (dha.gov.za, checked Oct 20, 2026). Whether that is one grant or includes renewals differs by program, so check each program page.

Which African digital nomad visas let you bring your family?

Official sources confirm family members can be included for Namibia Digital Nomad Visa, Cape Verde Remote Working Program and Mauritius Premium Visa. For South Africa Remote Work Visa and Seychelles Workcation Retreat Program, family rules aren't confirmed on the official page we checked.

Do digital nomads pay income tax in Africa?

It depends on the country. Cape Verde Remote Working Program: Remote workers in Cabo Verde are exempt from income tax. South Africa Remote Work Visa: You must register with SARS (the tax authority) if you are in South Africa more than 183 days in 12 months.

More lists

Rules change. We'll tell you.

One short email every Tuesday when thresholds, fees or programs change. No spam.

Free · Unsubscribe anytime