Digital nomad visa fees, cheapest first
23 programs whose official source states an application fee, cheapest first. We quote each fee as the authority words it, with an approximate USD figure for the main applicant.
| # | Program | Fee (main applicant) | Official fee wording | Min. income | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MauritiusPremium Visa | FreeNo application fee | Free | Not stated | passport.govmu.org ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 2 | United Arab EmiratesVirtual Work Residence Visa | ≈ $60AED 200 + AED 20 from outside the UAE; AED 500 inside, plus AED 20 delivery | AED 200 permit + AED 20 Knowledge/Innovation Dirhams; AED 500 if applying inside UAE; AED 20 delivery | ≈ $3,500/mo$3,500 / month | gdrfad.gov.ae ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 3 | Cape VerdeRemote Working Program | ≈ $61€20 visa + €34 airport fee, per person | Visa fee €20/person; airport fee €34/person (once) | Not stated | visit-caboverde.com ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| 4 | Costa RicaDigital Nomad Visa | ≈ $100USD 100 deposit | USD 100 deposit | ≈ $3,000/mo$3,000 / month | racsa.go.cr ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| 5 | BrazilDigital Nomad Visa | ≈ $107Toronto consulate; CAD 435 for US nationals | CAD 150 at the Toronto consulate (CAD 435 for US nationals, CAD 277.50 for UK nationals; reciprocity fees vary by consulate) | ≈ $1,500/mo$1,500 / month | gov.br ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 6 | HungaryWhite Card | ≈ $123At a consulate abroad; HUF 26,000 via Enter Hungary | EUR 110 for the residence permit and entry visa (one combined fee) when applying at a consulate abroad; HUF 39,000 if applying in Hungary in person, HUF 26,000 via Enter Hungary; extension HUF 26,000 | ≈ $3,365/mo€3,000 / month | oif.gov.hu ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 7 | ItalyDigital Nomad Visa | ≈ $130Paris consulate; varies by consulate | €116 consular fee at the Paris consulate (cash, exact amount); varies by consulate | ≈ $2,384/mo€25,500 / year | amblavalletta.esteri.it ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 8 | CyprusDigital Nomad Visa | ≈ $157€70 permit + €70 Aliens Registry; other fees may apply | €70 permit issuance/renewal + €70 Aliens Registry registration (other fees may apply) | ≈ $3,926/mo€3,500 / month | gov.cy ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 9 | CroatiaTemporary Stay of Digital Nomads | ≈ $167At a consulate; €87.59 at a police station in Croatia | At a consulate: €55.74 temporary stay + €93.00 D visa (or €41.14 biometric card). At a police station in Croatia: €46.45 temporary stay + €9.29 admin + €31.85 biometric card | ≈ $4,063/mo€3,622.50 / month | mup.gov.hr ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 10 | NamibiaDigital Nomad Visa | ≈ $200Paid on approval | NAD 3,300 (on approval) | ≈ $2,000/mo$2,000 / month | nipdb.com ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 11 | GreeceDigital Nomad Visa | ≈ $202London consulate; varies by mission | €180 national long-stay (D) visa fee at the Greek consulate in London (£154.80 at the Sept 2026 rate); varies by mission | ≈ $3,926/mo€3,500 / month | mfa.gr ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 12 | MalaysiaDE Rantau Nomad Pass | ≈ $265Per applicant; +RM540 per dependant | RM1,080 per applicant and RM540 per dependant (incl. 8% SST), non-refundable, paid to MDEC on application | ≈ $2,000/mo$24,000 / year | mdec.my ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 13 | Curaçao@HOME in Curaçao · Partly verified | ≈ $299Per application | ANG 535 (about USD 294) per application | Not stated | athomeincuracao.com ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| 14 | PanamaShort Stay Remote Worker Visa | ≈ $300B/.250 to SNM + B/.50 ID card | B/.250 to SNM + B/.50 ID card | ≈ $3,000/mo$36,000 / year | migracion.gob.pa ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 15 | EcuadorTemporary Residence Visa – Remote Work | ≈ $320USD 50 application + USD 270 issuance | USD 50 application + USD 270 issuance | ≈ $1,446/mo$1,446 / month | gob.ec ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| 16 | RomaniaDigital Nomad Visa · Partly verified | ≈ $337Long-stay (D) visa via e-Viza | €300 long-stay (D) visa fee for applications submitted via e-Viza from 27 April 2026 (previously €120) | See rule | evisa.mae.ro ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| 17 | IndonesiaRemote Worker Visa | ≈ $3871-year stay package | IDR 7,000,000 for the 1-year stay package (visa IDR 500,000 + category II verification IDR 2,000,000 + 1-year stay permit IDR 3,000,000 + re-entry permit IDR 1,500,000) | ≈ $5,000/mo$60,000 / year | imigrasi.go.id ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 18 | ThailandDestination Thailand Visa | ≈ $400Washington DC embassy; £300 in London | USD 400 at the Washington DC embassy; £300 at the London embassy (varies by mission) | See rule | washingtondc.thaiembassy.org ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 19 | MaltaNomad Residence Permit | ≈ $449€300 application + €100 residence card, per person | €300 non-refundable application fee per person + €100 residence card per person | ≈ $3,926/mo€42,000 / year | nomad.residencymalta.gov.mt ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| 20 | Sri LankaDigital Nomad Visa | ≈ $500Per person, per year | USD 500 per person per year | ≈ $2,000/mo$2,000 / month | immigration.gov.lk ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 21 | BahamasBEATS · Partly verified | ≈ $1,025USD 25 application + USD 1,000 permit (professionals) | USD 25 application + USD 1,000 permit (professionals); dependants USD 25 + USD 500 each | Not stated | bahamasbeats.com ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| 22 | ThailandLong-Term Resident Visa – Work-from-Thailand Professional | ≈ $1,48210-year visa, collected in Thailand | THB 50,000 per person for the 10-year visa when collected in Thailand (more at embassies abroad) | ≈ $6,667/mo$80,000 / year | ltr.boi.go.th ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 23 | BarbadosWelcome Stamp | ≈ $2,000Individual; USD 3,000 family bundle | USD 2,000 individual; USD 3,000 family bundle | ≈ $4,167/mo$50,000 / year | barbadoswelcomestamp.bb ↗Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
Fee USD figures are approximate (FX Oct 23, 2026); income USD figures use FX Oct 20, 2026. The authority charges the official-currency amount, and fees can change without notice.
Fee not published on the official page (14)
These programs are verified, but the official pages we check don't state the full application fee, so we don't rank them.
- Argentina
- Per DNM migration fee table (amount not on page). Checked Oct 23, 2026 on argentina.gob.ar ↗
- Colombia
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 22, 2026 on cancilleria.gov.co ↗
- Czechia
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 22, 2026 on mpo.gov.cz ↗
- Estonia
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 22, 2026 on e-resident.gov.ee ↗
- Japan
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 22, 2026 on mofa.go.jp ↗
- Latvia
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on pmlp.gov.lv ↗
- Mexico
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on consulmex.sre.gob.mx ↗
- Montenegro
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on digitalnomads.gov.me ↗
- Portugal
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 22, 2026 on aima.gov.pt ↗
- South Africa
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on dha.gov.za ↗
- South Korea
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on overseas.mofa.go.kr ↗
- Spain
- Only the €73.26 fee for residence-permit applications filed in Spain is published; consular visa fees vary by nationality. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on inclusion.gob.es ↗
- Taiwan
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on boca.gov.tw ↗
- Uruguay
- The official pages we check don’t state the fee. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on uruguayxxi.gub.uy ↗
Quick answers
Which digital nomad visa is the cheapest to apply for?
Going by the fees official sources publish, the cheapest are Mauritius Premium Visa: free (passport.govmu.org, checked Oct 23, 2026); United Arab Emirates Virtual Work Residence Visa: ≈ $60 (AED 200 + AED 20 from outside the UAE; AED 500 inside, plus AED 20 delivery) (gdrfad.gov.ae, checked Oct 23, 2026); Cape Verde Remote Working Program: ≈ $61 (€20 visa + €34 airport fee, per person) (visit-caboverde.com, checked Oct 22, 2026); Costa Rica Digital Nomad Visa: ≈ $100 (USD 100 deposit) (racsa.go.cr, checked Oct 22, 2026). USD figures are approximate; the authority charges in its own currency.
Is any digital nomad visa free?
Yes. Mauritius Premium Visa has no application fee, per its official source (passport.govmu.org, checked Oct 23, 2026).
Which digital nomad visas cost the most to apply for?
Of the verified programs that publish a fee, the highest are Barbados Welcome Stamp: ≈ $2,000 (individual; USD 3,000 family bundle); and Thailand Long-Term Resident Visa – Work-from-Thailand Professional: ≈ $1,482 (10-year visa, collected in Thailand). Thailand’s LTR fee covers a 10-year visa.
Does the fee depend on where you apply?
Often, yes. Brazil, Italy, Greece and Thailand (DTV) publish fees for a specific embassy or consulate, and other missions charge different amounts (Brazil charges US nationals more). Croatia, Hungary and the UAE charge different fees in-country than abroad.
Do family members pay too?
For Malaysia, Malta, Sri Lanka, Thailand (LTR) and Barbados, the official fee wording mentions per-person, per-dependant or family fees. Check each program page before you budget for a family move.
Is the application fee the whole cost?
No. Police certificates, apostilles, sworn translations and couriers usually cost extra, and some programs charge separately for an ID or residence card. The table shows what each authority says the fee covers.
Why isn’t every country on this list?
We only rank a fee the official source states. 14 other verified programs don't publish one on the pages we check (or publish only part of it), so they're listed separately instead of guessed.