Digital nomad visas for freelancers and the self-employed
13 programs whose official source says freelancers, the self-employed or people with foreign clients can apply. Verified programs first, lowest income first. We quote who qualifies in the authority’s own terms.
| # | Program | Who can apply (official source) | Min. income | Stay | Family | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EcuadorTemporary Residence Visa – Remote Work | Remote work for an employer, client or company based abroad | ≈ $1,446/mo$1,446 / month | Up to 2 years | Yes | gob.ec ↗Checked Oct 24, 2026 |
| 2 | ColombiaDigital Nomad Visa | Employees or freelancers working for foreign companies, or a digital-content/IT start-upNo paid work for Colombian companies | ≈ $1,655/mo5,252,715 COP / month | Up to 2 years | Yes | cancilleria.gov.co ↗Checked Oct 25, 2026 |
| 3 | SpainDigital Nomad Visa | Employees, or freelancers with a 3+ month contract with a foreign companyFreelancers may bill Spanish clients for up to 20% of their work | ≈ $3,196/mo€2,849 / month | 1 year | Yes | inclusion.gob.es ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 4 | GreeceDigital Nomad Visa | Employees or freelancers with employers or clients outside GreeceYou cannot work for a Greek company, as an employee or freelancer | ≈ $3,926/mo€3,500 / month | Up to 2 years | Yes | mfa.gr ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 5 | MaltaNomad Residence Permit | Employees of a foreign-registered employer, partners/shareholders of a foreign-registered company, or freelancers with foreign clientsMust work for an employer/clients outside Malta | ≈ $3,926/mo€42,000 / year | 1 year | Yes | nomad.residencymalta.gov.mt ↗Checked Oct 24, 2026 |
| 6 | PortugalD8 Digital Nomad Visa | Employment or self-employment for entities outside Portugal | ≈ $4,128/mo€3,680 / month | 2 years | Not confirmed | aima.gov.pt ↗Checked Oct 24, 2026 |
| 7 | BarbadosWelcome Stamp | Remote work only, for companies or individuals outside Barbados | ≈ $4,167/mo$50,000 / year | Up to 12 months | Yes | barbadoswelcomestamp.bb ↗Checked Oct 24, 2026 |
| 8 | LatviaLong-Stay Visa for Remote Work | Employees of an employer registered in an OECD country (6+ months with that employer), or self-employed people registered in an OECD countryNo right to work for Latvian employers | ≈ $4,726/mo€4,213 / month | 1 year | Not confirmed | pmlp.gov.lv ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 9 | EstoniaDigital Nomad Visa | Employees of a company registered abroad, owners of a company registered abroad, or freelancers whose clients are mostly outside Estonia | ≈ $5,048/mo€4,500 / month | Up to 1 year | Not confirmed | e-resident.gov.ee ↗Checked Oct 24, 2026 |
| 10 | UruguayDigital Nomad Permit | Self-employed people or employees of foreign companies | See rule | 180 days | Not confirmed | uruguayxxi.gub.uy ↗Checked Oct 23, 2026 |
| 11 | BahamasBEATS · Partly verified | Employees (employer letter) or self-employed people (proof of self-employment) | Not stated | 12 months | Yes | bahamasbeats.com ↗Checked Oct 24, 2026 |
| 12 | Curaçao@HOME in Curaçao · Partly verified | Remote work for an employer, company or clients outside CuraçaoLocal work not allowed | Not stated | 6 months | Yes | athomeincuracao.com ↗Checked Oct 24, 2026 |
| 13 | SeychellesWorkcation Retreat Program · Partly verified | Employees, freelancers and company owners | Not stated | Up to 1 year | Not confirmed | Official page unavailableLast confirmed Oct 19, 2026 |
USD figures are approximate (FX Oct 20, 2026). The official currency figure is what the authority applies.
Employer or company contract required (4)
The official sources for these programs describe an employee or company-contract route. Freelancers may not qualify, so check with the authority first.
- Brazil
- The consulate asks for proof of employment with the foreign employer. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on gov.br ↗
- Indonesia
- Needs a work contract with a company outside Indonesia. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on imigrasi.go.id ↗
- South Africa
- Must work for a foreign employer under a contract signed by both. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on dha.gov.za ↗
- South Korea
- Employees with 1+ year at their current foreign employer; freelancers are not eligible. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on overseas.mofa.go.kr ↗
Freelancer rules not stated in our record (23)
The official pages we check for these programs don't say whether freelancers or the self-employed qualify. Many accept them in practice, but we only list what the source states.
- Albania
- Unique Permit. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on e-albania.al ↗
- Argentina
- Digital Nomad Transitory Residence. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on argentina.gob.ar ↗
- Cape Verde
- Remote Working Program. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on visit-caboverde.com ↗
- Costa Rica
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on racsa.go.cr ↗
- Croatia
- Temporary Stay of Digital Nomads. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on mup.gov.hr ↗
- Cyprus
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on gov.cy ↗
- Czechia
- Digital Nomad Programme. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on mpo.gov.cz ↗
- Hungary
- White Card. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on oif.gov.hu ↗
- Italy
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on amblavalletta.esteri.it ↗
- Japan
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on mofa.go.jp ↗
- Malaysia
- DE Rantau Nomad Pass. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on mdec.my ↗
- Mauritius
- Premium Visa. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on passport.govmu.org ↗
- Mexico
- Temporary Resident Visa. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on consulmex.sre.gob.mx ↗
- Montenegro
- Digital Nomad Temporary Residence. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on digitalnomads.gov.me ↗
- Namibia
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on nipdb.com ↗
- Panama
- Short Stay Remote Worker Visa. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on migracion.gob.pa ↗
- Romania
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on evisa.mae.ro ↗
- Serbia
- Temporary Residence for Digital Nomads. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on welcometoserbia.gov.rs ↗
- Sri Lanka
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on immigration.gov.lk ↗
- Taiwan
- Digital Nomad Visa. Checked Oct 25, 2026 on boca.gov.tw ↗
- Thailand
- Long-Term Resident Visa – Work-from-Thailand Professional. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on ltr.boi.go.th ↗
- Thailand
- Destination Thailand Visa. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on washingtondc.thaiembassy.org ↗
- United Arab Emirates
- Virtual Work Residence Visa. Checked Oct 23, 2026 on gdrfad.gov.ae ↗
Not open for applications (2)
These programs are widely reported but an official source shows they are not taking applications. We don't rank them.
- Peru
- Not open yet. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on gob.pe ↗
- Philippines
- Not open yet. Checked Oct 24, 2026 on lawphil.net ↗
Quick answers
Which digital nomad visas accept freelancers?
The official sources we check accept freelancers, the self-employed or client work for 10 verified programs: Ecuador Temporary Residence Visa – Remote Work, Colombia Digital Nomad Visa, Spain Digital Nomad Visa, Greece Digital Nomad Visa, Malta Nomad Residence Permit, Portugal D8 Digital Nomad Visa, Barbados Welcome Stamp, Latvia Long-Stay Visa for Remote Work, Estonia Digital Nomad Visa and Uruguay Digital Nomad Permit. Partly verified: Bahamas BEATS, @HOME in Curaçao and Seychelles Workcation Retreat Program. The wording differs, so read who qualifies for each one.
Can self-employed people get a digital nomad visa in Europe?
Yes. Spain Digital Nomad Visa: employees, or freelancers with a 3+ month contract with a foreign company; Greece Digital Nomad Visa: employees or freelancers with employers or clients outside Greece; Malta Nomad Residence Permit: employees of a foreign-registered employer, partners/shareholders of a foreign-registered company, or freelancers with foreign clients; Portugal D8 Digital Nomad Visa: employment or self-employment for entities outside Portugal; Latvia Long-Stay Visa for Remote Work: employees of an employer registered in an OECD country (6+ months with that employer), or self-employed people registered in an OECD country; Estonia Digital Nomad Visa: employees of a company registered abroad, owners of a company registered abroad, or freelancers whose clients are mostly outside Estonia. Each program page links the official source.
Which freelancer-friendly digital nomad visa has the lowest income requirement?
Among verified programs with a fixed figure, the lowest are Ecuador Temporary Residence Visa – Remote Work (about $1,446/month; official rule: USD 1,446 per month: 3× Ecuador's 2026 Unified Basic Salary (SBU USD 482) for each of the 3 months before applying, or USD 17,352 a year (36 SBU)), Colombia Digital Nomad Visa (about $1,655/month; official rule: COP 5,252,715 per month: 3× Colombia's 2026 legal monthly minimum wage (SMMLV COP 1,750,905), shown in bank statements for the last 3 months) and Spain Digital Nomad Visa (about $3,196/month; official rule: €2,849 gross per month (€34,188/yr): 200% of Spain's 2026 minimum wage (SMI €17,094/yr). Some consulates calculate it on the 14-payment monthly SMI (€1,221), which gives €2,442/month, so plan for the higher figure). USD amounts are approximate, at exchange rates of Oct 20, 2026.
Which digital nomad visas ask for an employer or company contract?
Brazil Digital Nomad Visa: the consulate asks for proof of employment with the foreign employer (gov.br, checked Oct 23, 2026); Indonesia Remote Worker Visa: needs a work contract with a company outside Indonesia (imigrasi.go.id, checked Oct 25, 2026); South Africa Remote Work Visa: must work for a foreign employer under a contract signed by both (dha.gov.za, checked Oct 23, 2026); South Korea Workation Visa: employees with 1+ year at their current foreign employer; freelancers are not eligible (overseas.mofa.go.kr, checked Oct 23, 2026).
Can freelancers work for local clients on a digital nomad visa?
Mostly no. Colombia: no paid work for Colombian companies; Spain: freelancers may bill Spanish clients for up to 20% of their work; Greece: you cannot work for a Greek company, as an employee or freelancer; Malta: must work for an employer/clients outside Malta; Latvia: no right to work for Latvian employers; Curaçao: local work not allowed. Spain is the one exception we can confirm, capped at 20% of a freelancer’s work.
Why isn’t every country on this list?
We only list a program as open to freelancers when the official source says so in writing. For 23 open programs, the pages we check don’t say whether freelancers qualify (listed below), so we don’t guess. Ask the authority or consulate before you apply.