← All visas

Digital nomad visas in island countries

11 open programs in island countries across the Caribbean, the Atlantic, the Indian Ocean, the Mediterranean and Asia-Pacific, sorted by the minimum income on their official government page. Programs that don’t publish an income figure are listed last.

Caribbean: 3 · Atlantic: 1 · Indian Ocean: 2 · Mediterranean: 2 · Asia-Pacific: 3. National visas also cover islands in bigger countries (Crete, Madeira, Phuket): see the quick answers below.

#ProgramIsland groupMin. incomeStayFeesFamilySource
1 Sri LankaDigital Nomad Visa Indian Ocean ≈ $2,000/mo$2,000 / month 1 year USD 500 per person per year Yes immigration.gov.lk ↗Checked Oct 27, 2026
2 TaiwanDigital Nomad Visa Asia-Pacific ≈ $3,333/mo$40,000 / year — Not stated Not confirmed boca.gov.tw ↗Checked Oct 27, 2026
3 CyprusDigital Nomad Visa Mediterranean ≈ $3,926/mo€3,500 / month 1 year €70 permit issuance/renewal + €70 Aliens Registry registration (other fees may apply) Yes gov.cy ↗Checked Oct 27, 2026
4 MaltaNomad Residence Permit Mediterranean ≈ $3,926/mo€42,000 / year 1 year €300 non-refundable application fee per person + €100 residence card per person Yes nomad.residencymalta.gov.mt ↗Checked Oct 28, 2026
5 BarbadosWelcome Stamp Caribbean ≈ $4,167/mo$50,000 / year Up to 12 months USD 2,000 individual; USD 3,000 family bundle Yes barbadoswelcomestamp.bb ↗Checked Oct 28, 2026
6 IndonesiaRemote Worker Visa Asia-Pacific ≈ $5,000/mo$60,000 / year 1 year IDR 7,000,000 for the 1-year stay package (visa IDR 500,000 + category II verification IDR 2,000,000 + 1-year stay permit IDR 3,000,000 + re-entry permit IDR 1,500,000) Not confirmed imigrasi.go.id ↗Checked Oct 27, 2026
7 JapanDigital Nomad Visa Asia-Pacific ≈ $5,260/mo¥10,000,000 / year 6 months Not stated Yes mofa.go.jp ↗Checked Oct 28, 2026
8 BahamasBEATS · Partly verified Caribbean Not stated 12 months USD 25 application + USD 1,000 permit (professionals); dependants USD 25 + USD 500 each Yes bahamasbeats.com ↗Checked Oct 28, 2026
9 Cape VerdeRemote Working Program Atlantic Not stated 6 months Visa fee €20/person; airport fee €34/person (once) Yes visit-caboverde.com ↗Checked Oct 28, 2026
10 Curaçao@HOME in Curaçao · Partly verified Caribbean Not stated 6 months ANG 535 (about USD 294) per application Yes athomeincuracao.com ↗Checked Oct 28, 2026
11 MauritiusPremium Visa Indian Ocean Not stated 1 year Free Yes passport.govmu.org ↗Checked Oct 27, 2026

USD figures are approximate (FX Oct 20, 2026). The official currency figure is what the authority applies.

Status unconfirmed (1)

The official pages for these programs are unavailable, so we can't confirm they're taking applications. We don't rank them.

Seychelles
Workcation Retreat Program: official page unavailable. Last confirmed Oct 19, 2026.
Not open for applications (2)

These programs are widely reported but an official source shows they are not taking applications. We don't rank them. See also countries without a digital nomad visa, including Vietnam.

Philippines
Not open yet. Checked Oct 28, 2026 on lawphil.net ↗
Antigua and Barbuda
Closed to new applicants. Checked Oct 27, 2026 on ab.gov.ag ↗

Quick answers

Which island countries have a digital nomad visa?

We track 11 open remote-work programs in island countries: Caribbean: Barbados, Bahamas and Curaçao; Atlantic: Cape Verde; Indian Ocean: Sri Lanka and Mauritius; Mediterranean: Cyprus and Malta; Asia-Pacific: Taiwan, Indonesia and Japan. Each links to its official government source.

Which island digital nomad visa has the lowest income requirement?

Among verified island programs with a fixed figure, the lowest are Sri Lanka Digital Nomad Visa (about $2,000/month; official rule: USD 2,000 per month remitted (+USD 500/month per dependent beyond two)), Taiwan Digital Nomad Visa (about $3,333/month; official rule: Annual salary ≥ USD 40,000 (age 30+) or ≥ USD 20,000 (age 20–29) in one of the last two years, or a digital nomad visa from another country) and Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa (about $3,926/month; official rule: €3,500 net per month). Bahamas, Cape Verde, Curaçao and Mauritius don't state an income figure on the official pages we check. USD amounts are approximate, at exchange rates of Oct 20, 2026.

Which Caribbean islands have a digital nomad visa?

Barbados Welcome Stamp (up to 12 months; USD 2,000 individual; USD 3,000 family bundle), Bahamas BEATS (12 months; USD 25 application + USD 1,000 permit (professionals); dependants USD 25 + USD 500 each) and @HOME in Curaçao (6 months; ANG 535 (about USD 294) per application). Antigua and Barbuda closed its program to new applicants, per the official source.

Which island visas say you pay no local income tax?

Barbados: Welcome Stamp holders are not liable for Barbados income tax (17.5% VAT still applies to purchases). Cape Verde: Remote workers in Cabo Verde are exempt from income tax. Curaçao: You are not required to pay Curaçao income tax. That is local income tax only; your home country may still tax you. Cyprus: Staying over 183 days in a tax year can make you a Cyprus tax resident.

Which island visa is the cheapest to apply for?

Going by the fees official sources publish: Mauritius Premium Visa: free (passport.govmu.org, checked Oct 27, 2026); Cape Verde Remote Working Program: Visa fee €20/person; airport fee €34/person (once) (visit-caboverde.com, checked Oct 28, 2026); Cyprus Digital Nomad Visa: €70 permit issuance/renewal + €70 Aliens Registry registration (other fees may apply) (gov.cy, checked Oct 27, 2026). The most expensive is Barbados Welcome Stamp (USD 2,000 individual; USD 3,000 family bundle).

Is there a digital nomad visa for Bali?

Bali is part of Indonesia, so remote workers use Indonesia's national Remote Worker Visa (E33G): USD 60,000 per year salary/income, 1 year stay, fee IDR 7,000,000 for the 1-year stay package (imigrasi.go.id, checked Oct 27, 2026).

Which island visas let you bring family?

Official sources confirm family members can be included for Sri Lanka, Cyprus, Malta, Barbados, Japan, Bahamas, Cape Verde, Curaçao and Mauritius. For Taiwan and Indonesia, the official page we check doesn't confirm family rules.

Is the Seychelles Workcation program still open?

Unconfirmed. The former official Workcation pages no longer show the program, Seychelles Immigration (ics.gov.sc) lists no Workcation permit, and we found no official notice of closure. Details were last confirmed on an official page on Oct 19, 2026. We keep it off the main table until an official source states its status.

What about islands in bigger countries, like Crete, Madeira or Phuket?

A national visa covers the whole country, islands included. For Greek, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian or Croatian islands, use that country’s digital nomad visa; for Phuket or Koh Samui, Thailand’s DTV; for Penang or Langkawi, Malaysia’s DE Rantau. Each has its own page here.

Head-to-head

More lists

Rules change. We'll tell you.

One short email every Tuesday when thresholds, fees or programs change. No spam.

Free · Unsubscribe anytime